Christmas Knits

Since Christmas is coming up, I wanted to share some of the Christmas-themed knitted patterns I’ve found that I particularly like. Many are saved on my Pinterest Knitting Christmas board, but some of them were unfriendly to pinning, so I’m adding those here as well as some of my favorite Christmas knit pins.

Some Favorite Christmas Knit Pins

The following pictures come from the Pinterest pins. Seeing as how those images are already floating around Pinterest, I assume the author permits those photos to be shared so long as due credit is given.

1. Finger-Knit Wreath

This wreath is, according to the author, a great project for kids who enjoy finger-knitting to help you with. Unfortunately, it does require the purchase of a plastic or styrofoam wreath form/mold purchased from your local craft store. Since I now live in Japan, I was hoping to find a knitted wreath pattern that didn’t rely on products widely available in any particular country, but rather products widely available in any developed nation. Nevertheless, this really caught my eye and I would love to make it someday.

knit wreath

 

2. Night Caps

A “night cap” for your “Christmas spirits”! A great stocking stuffer for people who aren’t tea-totalers like me. 🙂 It’s a very simple in-the-round pattern.

night cap

3. Cork Trees

From the same creator of the night caps pictured above, here’s another relatively simple pattern for turning wine corks into Christmas trees!

cork trees

3. 3D Stjärna Stars

These are the nicest 3D stars I’ve seen, perfect for knitted Christmas ornaments. This free pattern is available on Ravelry, but it’s definitely not a simple pattern.*

3D stars

4. Snowman

This simple snowman pattern is perfect for Christmas ornaments. You might even slightly edit it to stuff with candy as a stocking stuffer.

snowman

5. Christmas Gift Bags

Beautiful! Especially if gift bags and wrapping paper are not readily available, as is the case in Japan. I mean, REALLY? It drives me crazy that I have difficulty finding these things here. :-/

gift bag

6. Knit Ornament

Oh, my goodness!! It’s SO FREAKING CUTE!!! Free pattern on Ravelry!

knit ornament

7. Balm Socks

Again, SO CUTE!! These stockings are perfect as combination ornament-gifts. Simply stuff it with lip balm, chewing gum, or other small gifts, and hang it on the tree.

stocking

Some Cool DROPS Christmas Knits

Searching on Ravelry favoriting various free patterns, I discovered a pattern (lol, no pun intended): I apparently love DROPS Design. I’ve never purchased anything from them and they don’t give me money, so you know this is coming from complete honesty–I just like their designs. Well, I recently learned that they come out with a Christmas series of knit and crochet patterns every year, so I looked through this year’s Christmas knitting patterns and picked out some non-clothing favorites.

1. Mouse

I know it’s not exactly Christmasy, but it could be… especially if you toss a couple on a table next to a nutcracker. If you look at the pattern page, you’ll see a reference to crochet hooks, but knitters don’t worry and crocheters don’t get excited–it’s just the tail that’s crochet.

a mouse

 

2. Felted Heart Basket

This basket is apparently intended as a receptacle for Christmas cards, which is an awesome idea, but it could be used for any number of other things.

a felted heart

3. “Sweet Heart”

This knitted heart to hang on the tree could be stuffed with any number of awesome-smelling things.

a sweet heart

4. Holiday Night Candle Votive Cover

These are so beautiful, I just have to make these. I wonder whether the pressure and heat would cause felting.

a holiday night

5. Christmas Lights Candle Votive Cover

Again, so beautiful. And again, I wonder about the felting. Maybe these should be knit in cotton instead of animal fibers. I don’t think synthetic fibers like polyester would be a good idea because they’re essentially plastic and might melt with long-term exposure to high heat. Any experienced knitters want to weigh in?

a christmas lights

 

Well, that’s it for now!

じゃあまたね!

*I will never say “not a pattern for beginner knitters,” because when I was a beginner knitter, I learned to increase my skill set by intentionally choosing difficult patterns. However, I *will* designate patterns as simple or complex.

Leave a Reply

