I Love Wraps

I love wraps, I really do. But it occurs to me that I’ve written a couple posts recently about cowls that I consider ugly or weird—namely, the survivor cowl or Everdeen cowl (5/23/14 post Hollywood Knits) and the arm-knit cowl (5/9/14 post Arm Knitting and Giant Goblin Goiters).

First, I’d like to refer you to last week’s blog post about the differences between cowls, shawls, scarves, wraps, stoles, etc. According to those definitions, the arm-knit giant goblin goiter “cowl” is indeed a cowl. However, the survivor cowl or Everdeen cowl doesn’t really fit any of the descriptions. It’s more like a cross between a shawl and a cowl, or a partial vest with a cowl. For lack of better description, though, I guess it should remain “cowl.” What do you think?

moebius wrap

moebius wrap

So what do I like? I like certain simple shawls, Möbius shawls, and shoulderettes or shoulder wraps the best.

I like the look of this plain Möbius shawl (left) and this lace Möbius shawl (below). Both free patterns are available on Ravelry.

 

 

 

pitsi-mobius

pitsi-mobius

The vintage shoulderette tends to have sleeves but the modern shoulder wrap or shoulder shawl usually doesn’t. I prefer the look of the modern shoulder wrap. Here are some of my favorites (free patterns on Ravelry):

Shoulder Warmer with Lace Pattern

Shoulder Warmer with Lace Pattern

Kansas City Cowl

Kansas City Cowl

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lace Blend Shoulder Cowl

Lace Blend Shoulder Cowl

Knitted Shoulder Wrap

Knitted Shoulder Wrap

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Note that #1, the “Kansas City Cowl,” and #4, the “Lace Blend Shoudler Cowl,” are NOT cowls!!!)

I prefer the shoulder wrap that is not open in front, but there are plenty of really cute or elegant shoulder shawls that are open in front, like this one.

Shoulder Piece in Garter Stitch

Shoulder Piece in Garter Stitch

I think I have a thing for DROPS Design… 3 of the 5 shoulder shawls I selected are designed by them! Hmmmm…

But there are also some REALLY cool items that are not quite shawl, not quite shirt/sweater/hoodie/vest, like these two (both free patterns on Ravelry):

Shoulder Hoodie

Shoulder Hoodie

Shawl Collar Vest

Shawl Collar Vest

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I better stop while I’m ahead! And if this seems like a shameless plug for Ravelry… GOOD! All knitters and crocheters should be members of Ravelry. It’s free to become a member and there are thousands of free patterns on the site. If you’re like me, you could spend all day on the site… Hmm… Of course, we all know the tenth commandment: “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor her really cool knitted items, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.” (Exodus 20:17)

じゃあまたね!

Leave a Reply

