Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day! (belated)

 

Update on the onesies: I’ve nearly completed another, but got delayed in my attempts to sew an appliqué onto the onesie. I learned the hard way that I was doing it wrong. I asked myself: why do I always have to do everything the hard way?

 

So here’s a short blog post regarding how to sew on an appliqué. There are two basic methods. The first involves a fusible web, with which you essentially glue the appliqué to the fabric. Here is a helpful blog posts I found describing that process: http://sewlikemymom.com/applique-tutorial/

 

The second version involves plain old interfacing.

1) Cut out the appliqué

2) Pin the appliqué to the right side of the garment and the interfacing to the wrong side of the garment (the interfacing must be larger than the appliqué—this is where I initially went wrong)

3) Straight-stitch around the appliqué as close to the edge as possible to stick it in place, and remove the pins

4) Zig-zag stitch around the edge of the appliqué

5) Cut any excess interfacing, being careful not to cut any stitches or the fabric

And you’re done! Here’s one blog post I found to explain this process: http://sewlikemymom.com/applique-tutorial/

 

The gaucho pants and overalls are on hold for now.

 

Since I didn’t post last week, I’m giving two hints on the items to be added to the Etsy shop:

They will come with adoption cards.

There will be a series of maps for these items soon (hopefully by August).

 

じゃあまたね

Jaa, matane!

Leave a Reply

